As we mentioned last month, Facebook Reactions was in the works and we’re excited to share that the update is now live globally.

This means expressing yourself just got a lot easier on the social media platform.

Instead of just “liking” a post, you can also now tell your friends how you really feel. As of February 24, Facebook users around the world can get five new emoticons – “love,” “haha,” “sad,” “angry” and “wow” —  by hovering over or holding on “like.”

How To Use Facebook Reactions

On Desktop

To use Reactions on desktop, all you have to do is hold your cursor over the Like button and six Reactions will pop up. Choose the one that best fits your reaction; but be careful,  it’s very easy to accidentally “wow” or “love” someone’s status when exploring these new options.

On Mobile

Simply hold down the Like option to see the reactions and choose one that best fits your feeling in the moment.

Things To Know about Facebook Reactions


Once you use the new reaction feature, each post will show the top three reactions it has received. Clicking on those reactions will give you a breakdown of how many people have used each reaction. Do remember that you cannot post two reactions for a single post. If you do so, the first reaction will be replaced by the second one.


Ready to Level Up?

Our social media experts are ready to supercharge your social platforms. Click the get started button to learn more.

Get Started